Monday, April 7, 2008

Up and Coming Thriller Writers

I won't name names, but I hate it when an author I once enjoyed is now churning out books by committee. That's why I always perk up when a reviewer compares a relatively unknown author to a bestseller. Here are some recent thrillers that got my attention:
James O. Born was recommended to fans of Michael Connelly in Library Journal for his series featuring ATF agent Alex Duarte, the latest of which is Burn Zone.
Denise Mina's main character in Slip of the Knife, Paddy Meehan, was called "one of the most praised heroines since Temperance Brennan" (the forensic anthropologist created by Kathy Reichs).
For fans of Martin Cruz Smith, "Robert Harris meets Gorky Park" was the verdict on Tom Rob Smith's debut novel Child 44.
Library Journal says that Lisa Lutz's Izzy Spellman could be a "wacky cousin" of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum.

1 comment:

Peter said...

If you're looking to nomaite someone as an up and coming thriller writer, I would like to nominate myself. Why not? My debut novel HUNTING THE KING, hit the bookshelves last week. It has received praiseworthy reviews from Booklist and ForeWord Magazine. Watch the incredible YouTube book trailer to get an idea why the reviews are so good. Here are the details on the book:


HUNTING THE KING is a fast-paced page-turner that follows archaeologist Molly O'Dwyer into war torn Iraq in search of the remains of Jesus. ForeWord Magazine says: "Fans of intellectual thrillers and historical fiction will find a worthy new voice in Clenott. His best invention may be Molly O’Dwyer, a genuinely likable heroine who more than holds her own in a man’s world. An ambitious scientist, she is also an observant Catholic whose heart and mind don’t always agree. Given such an auspicious start, the sequel can't come too soon." Molly is an in-your-face woman with a mysterious past who is about to go on the adventure of a lifetime.

To get a good sense of how exciting the novel is check out the heart-pounding trailer for the book at http://www.kunati.books/hunting-the-king-peter-clenott/. Or you can view it on YouTube or my web site at http://www.peterclenott.com.